Dear Souls… Thank You

Dear Souls in Earthsuits,

Thank you…

Thank you for words.

Thank you for the words that effortlessly fall out at just the right time, and thank you for the words that take days, weeks and months to form.

Thank you for descriptive words.

Thank you for ‘in between the lines’ words.

Thank you for clichés, coin phrases, metaphors, and figures of speech.

Thank you for knowing the difference.

Thank you for kicking me when I was down.

Thank you for helping me discover what I did want by showing me what I didn’t want.

Thank you for haunting me.  Never letting me clear my head of what was disconcerting me and interrupting my thought progression.  It’s like an incessant alarm clock telling me to wake up and do something with the red flags.  Never letting me forget that I’m still here for a reason.

Thank you for beating me to the point of near cognitive death.  I never would have had the chance to teach myself how to heal; I never would have grown. 

You never know you’re short until you’re forced to walk amongst the tall.  I recognize the value of good.

Thank you for giving me the ability to grasp the idea that there is more to this life.     

Thank you for making it easy enough for me to believe, but difficult enough for me to appreciate the end result. 

Thank you for giving me that 2nd chance, thank you for giving me that hand up, thank you for telling me I was going to make it.  You don’t know how much I admire you, so you never knew that it was you that kept me from quitting.

Thank you for loving me in a way that I’d know it, regardless of if you’d ever said it out loud.

Leave a Reply

